On my first contact with Satanic Temple

satanic_temple

London chapter of Satanic Temple received my application to join last week, but I later withdrew my application.

New Year, I applied to join the London chapter of Satanic Temple. This UK chapter was recently created, had social media, administration and officers in place, it was recruiting.

New recruits apply by e-mail to join the London chapter, they replied to me 48 hours later with a copy of their FAQ and Code of Conduct, which they asked me to read. The FAQ provides the potential recruit with more information to common questions not covered by Satanic Temple on their websites.

The Code of Conduct was a problem to me. Satanic Temple takes care to provide a professional positive image to the outside world. All contacts with the media had to be referred to their London public relations officer, a challenge since I often have personal contact with the media. Satanic Temple places lots of restrictions on members on what they can say and do, both as part of the group, and by inferrence what they do outside of the group.

The Satanic Temple requires members to reason with the opposition, never disresepct or humiliate them. However, I find the only strategy that works against those promoting Hampstead SRA hoax is satire and humour, which is disrespectful, and those opponents have neither respect for truth, justice, reason or liberty.

Changing from a position of being an individual to being part of a group is a big step. It is a step I see that will restrict what I can write on this blog, or the freedom of what strategy I take against the Satan Hunter, for instance, if I need to contact the media, approach a politician, take legal action, or use satire, I have a conflict of interest.

The London chapter is yet to decide its first campaign. I have only one interest, fighting Satanic Ritual Abuse hoaxes. Perhaps then my membership of London chapter might be less useful if they are focused on too many other projects as well as opposing SRA.

After reading and agreeing with their FAQ and Code of Conduct, the new recruit will answer a few simple questions: what name they wish to be known by; their previous experience in Satanism and activism; why they wish to join Satanic Temple. There is no membership fee to join Satanic Temple, but people pay for a membership card and certificate. There will follow an interview on Skype or by phone between recruit and an officer of the London chapter.

I decided it would be better for me to join the Grey Faction of Satanic Temple rather than their London chapter, since the Grey Faction is purely focussed on fighting SRA hoaxes. I withdrew my membership application before the interview stage. The London chapter has a strong focus on confidentiality, and they erased my membership application to protect my privacy.

I think the Satanic Temple London chapter to be professional, fast and efficient in handling their membership application process.

2 thoughts on “On my first contact with Satanic Temple

Leave a Reply

