I never celebrate Christmas

iceland

There are better ways to spend my time and money rather than on consumer Christmas.

It is around 46 days until Christmas Day, I am reminded of this when I visit most shops which push into my face their merchandise with the Christmas theme.  Despite the enormous social pressure I have a militant position of refusing to celebrate Christmas in any form: no cards; no gifts; no decorations; no parties.  I am the reincarnation of Scrooge in the Charles Dickens novel A Christmas Carol. 

Most people around me have been informed of my position on Christmas, even if many of them are unaware I am a Satanist.  For many this position is a challenging one to maintain against social pressures from family, work and friends, I formerly compromised by marking the period as a celebration of Winter Solstice rather than Christmas Day.

As a Satanist it is a nonsense that I should celebrate a Christian festival, I have serious issues over the whole concept of Christmas.  This festival leaves me cold, it embraces so many things that I despise and hate.

I am not a materialistic person, this day marks the avalanche of consumer greed on an epic scale, too many unwanted gifts that will become unloved, broken and discarded in landfill.  The huge waste of food, people contributing to the destruction of their health, using their body like a prostitute in cramming in food and drink to make them feel sick and unwell.  The stress of putting up decorations, preparing food and drink, buying gifts, and hosting events for ungrateful people, including people they hate, simply for the sake of seeking approval.  The unnecessary burden of entering into debt.  The hypocrisy of remembrance of the homeless, lonely and poor for one day out of 365 days.

This is the period I wish to get away from the crazy consumerism, stupidity and hypocrisy, to embrace simpler pastimes such as walking through the Forest of Dean, or amongst ancient standing stones in Avebury, or the land of fire and ice in Iceland.  Spiritually I turn to nature, since the consumerist excesses of Christmas makes me feel ill.  Nature is pure, simple, healthy and harmonious, a time where I recharge my batteries.  My body, mind and bank account remains healthy come New Year.

9 thoughts on “I never celebrate Christmas

  1. I”m the same way! I’ve been protesting Christmas for a long time. However, I do end up getting sucked into it. Though I’m trying to find ways other than spending tons of money. Mostly I just tell people I’m not celebrating, and only get something for my mom. Last year I made every one truffle hot chocolate. But I can’t stand the consumerism of it all, the music, the fuss, the stress–all of it. I just can’t get behind it. Also, I’m pagan.
    Good on you for standing up against social pressure!

  2. I can totally see where you’re coming from, although I’m all about Christmas, just maybe not for all the reasons most people celebrate it. It’s a powerful time for me spiritually, and I find it fairly easy to dismiss the shallow hypocrisy that permeates throughout the season while still holding to my traditions of the holiday. I appreciate and respect your stance on the biggest consumer holiday of the year, because for most people, that’s all it seems to be.

Leave a Reply

