Why my cat is God

my-cat-is-god

Why my cat is God.

A Satanist blog post on God had me thinking on this subject today.  If I said the cat I am sharing my seat with as I type this post has more claim to being God than the Christian version, I would be closer to the truth.  The religions of Islam, Christianity and Judaism go to war with each other over the same God, different name and ideals, but the same fiction that only exists in their heads.  My cat however is real, she empirically proves her existence by demonstration, observation and experience.  Her creative capacity might only stretch to being a pain in the ass, but she has a greater influence over this Satanist than the Christian God does.  Indeed, the cat having claimed this human body and soul, considers anything I own hers and requires sharing, and she has the power to move this Satanist with the Word of God – a meow.  The grace of God this cat shares with me is also empirically proven and far more preferable: her fleas; drool; cat hair; and cat smell that signals to other cats that I am on the side of good (cats) and not evil (dogs.)

In fact I am not a cat person, or a pet owning person, but I think a universe ruled by a cat is preferable and fun than a grumpy, whinging, bullying tyrant such as the Christian God.  I like to annoy the person who owns this cat by considering the philosophy that we exist only in a dream of this cat, the manifestation of a feline playthings and desires.  Cats have in history had a remarkable influence on humanity, there is a cat god Bast, and they were worshipped in Egypt.

I consider that God is Nature.  Empirically Nature is provable, and has all the qualities of God: creativity; ultimate authority; sum of all things; eternity; limitlessness.  What Nature lacks compared to the Christian God is a mind, it won’t judge and it is indifferent to the existence of me or humanity.

In philosophy is a concept known as a holon, a thing that paradoxically exists simultaneously as a whole and a part, for instance the acorn that contains the oak tree, and the oak tree that contains the acorn, is an example of a holon.  My cat is a part of Nature, the cat and Nature is a holon.  If Nature and my cat is a holon, and Nature is God, then my cat is God. Next time the religious salespeople come to my door, I will introduce them to God: my cat.

3 thoughts on “Why my cat is God

Leave a Reply

