Satanism and the media

Two Satanic personalities who have built up their own strong Satanic brands recently clashed on the Satanic forum known as 600club on the subject of Satanism and the media.  The first personality is a Zachary Schroeder who refers to himself in Satanism as Zach Black, who built up a strong following on YouTube, runs his own Satanic forum and appeared on a US comedy show.  The second personality is a businesswoman called Alison Jones, who uses Satanism to market her successful business brand.

Like most Satanists we have large egos, and the clash between Schroeder and Jones descended into a juvenile flame war.  The essence of the argument is how influential Satanism is in the media.

I personally have considerable experience in television, radio and newspapers, but for reasons of professionalism I keep my Satanism apart from my outside world activities.  My attitude to the media is blase, easy to manipulate, a tool to an ends.

For the novice, appearing on television is cool, and they feel that they are important after gaining their fifteen minutes of fame.  I see or read it often that the Satanist after appearing on a chat show lets the fame go to their heads, then thinks they are the ultimate authority on everything Satanic.  Zachary Schroeder carried his part in the comedy show well, but he and others need a reality check.  Satanism will forever be a minority outlook of individualism, it will never be universally accepted or adopted, we Satanists will mostly be in the shadows manifesting our own wills silently and anonymously.  Those few Satanists that rise into the media spotlight will always be highlighted as freaks, curiosities and beasts, the patsy of joke and condemnation.  Most Satanists such as me appear in the media, but never reveal our Satanism, but are highly effective in what we do.

The world of show business is a world of illusion and fantasy, nothing is real.  Satanism fits in well to show business, but is limited by stereotypes defined by Christian and storyteller.  Satanists fight against stereotypes, but the Satanist is no god in the entertainment industry, they must play as like puppets to the whim of market people and producer to stereotypes.  I bring Schroeder down with a bump when I say he is a patsy rather than a mover and shaker in the media.  Nor is Schroeder a mover or shaker of Satanism, for we all manifest our own unique wills, I move in my own way, Satanic Temple move in another, Alison Jones moves in another.

Ideally as individuals we use our disguises and manipulate the media in our own manner. In achieving our ends we leave our Satanism under our bed, we reveal nothing of our Satanism, we play the games the media plays, and turn those fantasies around to our benefit.

4 thoughts on “Satanism and the media

  1. Thanks for this commentary, it’s very interesting. I stay out of satanic scene drama and I don’t follow carefully what happens out there so that was a news to me. But I must say I’m not surprised. I see Zachary in the same way. He’s too primitive for my taste, he lacks of finesse and in my opinion he’s not doing us a favor by being so standing out. Luckily it’s laveyan corner so it’s far away from mine, but still in general, such immature individuals aren’t looking well. Hell, even Lavey isn’t the bright spot in this picture, although he did leave us with important legacy and that counts for something.
    Checking out further your interesting blog ;).

    • Your opinion is shared by many including me, Zachary ain’t the brightest spark but he is the best we have got at the present time, and I am happy to see something better than the usual ignorant portrayals of Satanism in the media. I agree about Lavey too, results count, and that man never made much money out of his celebrity and updated version of Satanism.

Leave a Reply

